gabriel project

lots of people ask me why i switched to the republican party.  it is weird, but it comes down to a single issue:  abortion.  it is not impossible to be a conservative democrat in texas, but it is doggone near impossible to run as a pro-life democrat.  that didn’t become apparent until i started asking my liberal friends to vote for me, and one by one they told me that they loved me, but there was no way they were going to vote for someone who doesn’t support choice.

today i talked on the phone to a volunteer for gabriel project.  i love their angle.  www.gabrielproject.com.  between them and literacy advance www.literacyadvance.org i think i have two organizations i would like to see benefit from my campaign.

1 Comment

  1. JD said,

    October 1, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    “lots of people ask me why i switched to the republican party. it is weird, but it comes down to a single issue: abortion”

    Yes abortion is probably the one issue that unites most conservatives. Obviously it is not smaller government, less regulations or more freedom. And what is the GOP of today doing? pushing liberal candidates like pro-choice Rudy.

    I never left the republican party, it left me


Leave a Reply

